The brigde dates back to c. 1080-1100. The name Devil's Bridge comes from the legend from the time of St. Julian, the protector of travelers. The devil was asked for help to construct the bridge and in return he was offered the soul of whoever crossed the bridge first. St. Julian arranged for a dog to cross the bridge for the first time. The history of the bridge is definitely interesting to read upon, as well as the scenery being incredible. The bridge is only 4 km before Bagni di Lucca which is a beautiful little village.
Beautiful small museum where are showcased 4 stunning sculpture groups depicting scenes of the Odyssey
Over a million of ancient document about travelling and geography from XIV to XX century freely accessible
Drop a line using the contact form